Connect with us

Business & Finance

The first phase of voting for 102 Lok Sabha seats in India begins in 2024



2024 Lok Sabha elections: First phase of voting underway for 102 seats across India

In the first phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, voting took place in 102 seats spread across 21 states and Union territories. Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged voters, especially the young and first-time voters, to participate in record numbers. Over 16.63 crore people were eligible to vote in this phase, including 35.67 lakh first-time voters and 3.51 crore young voters in the 20-29 age group.

The voting began at 7 a.m. and ended at 6 p.m. with a voter turnout of 11.15% in Assam and over 15% in West Bengal in the first two hours. Prominent personalities seen voting early on included Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, Rashtriya Swyamsevak Sangh chief Mohan Bhagwat, and Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal.

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, former President Rahul Gandhi, and Union Home Minister Amit Shah also urged voters to cast their ballots, emphasizing the importance of participation in the democratic process. Rahul Gandhi especially emphasized the need to defeat hatred by opening ‘Mohabbat Ki Dukaan’ in every part of the country.

In addition to the Lok Sabha seats, assembly elections were also held in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim simultaneously. The Election Commission deployed over 18 lakh polling personnel across 1.87 lakh stations for efficient conduct of the electoral process.

As the first phase of voting concluded, the focus shifted to the counting of votes on June 4. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Prime Minister Modi aimed for a stronger majority, while the opposition INDIA bloc sought a rebound after previous setbacks in the 2014 and 2019 elections.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply